Thursday, April 1, 2010

Now Presenting: The Rupp Award Winners, their hardware

Just like JJ Reddick (right) and Duke, they have to steal the Kentucky thunder

In another story about John Wall and John Calipari doing something no other player/coach has done before at Kentucky, tonight they each received their Rupp awards for player and coach of the year. Previous players and coaches include:

2009 Blake Griffin2009 Rick Pitino
2008 Tyler Hansbrough2008 Bruce Pearl
2007 Kevin Durant2007 Bo Ryan
2006 J.J. Reddick2006 Roy Williams
2005 J.J. Reddick2005 Bruce Weber
2004 Jameer Nelson2004 Phil Martelli
2003 David West
2002 Jason Williams
2001 Shane Battier
2000 Kenyon Martin
1999 Elton Brand
1998 Antawn Jamison
1997 Tim Duncan

About the Rupp awards: The RUPP TROPHY (Player of the Year) represents the longest running symbol of individual excellence in Men’s College Basketball and has been presented since 1972. The award has never been presented to a player from the University of Kentucky. The Rupp Awards are determined each year by an independent national voting panel consisting of over 90 of the nation’s most experienced sportswriters, coaches and athletic directors. The voters represent every major Division 1 conference and geographic region of the country.

No comments:

Post a Comment